PEER ACADEMIC ADVISORS


Peer Academic Advisors, or “PAAs”, are students that have been broadly trained in numerous areas of academic life here at Rice and serve as liaisons between students, faculty advisors, and the Office of Academic Advising. Generally speaking, college PAA teams coordinate numerous group and individual activities that attempt to strengthen the academic vitality at their respective residential colleges. They offer accurate advice regarding:


Even if a particular PAA cannot answer each and every detailed question, as fellow students, they can serve as familiar and approachable contacts who can point students in the right direction of the proper resources. In this way, interactions between academics, learning, and especially advising are ongoing dynamic conversations which involve multiple perspectives, not just a prescription for registration.

Below are the list of Lovett College's PAAs with their contact information, so don't hesitate to ask any of them if you need help with your academic plans!


Name Major(s) Year Email
Anitha Aadireddy Engineering 2020 anitha.aadireddy@rice.edu
Shikha Avancha Biochemistry and Cell Biology 2019 sa58@rice.edu
Antonia Brown VADA (Film), Asian Studies 2019 aib4@rice.edu
Akin Bruce Statistics, Mathematical Economic Analysis 2019 acb9@rice.edu
Bryce Deskins Art History 2019 bryce.deskins@rice.edu
Ariana Engles Natural Sciences 2020 ariana.c.engles@rice.edu
Daniel Faraldo Mathematical Economic Analysis 2018 dcf6@rice.edu
Alex Gardner Computational and Applied Mathematics 2018 agg3@rice.edu
Meghana Gaur Mathematical Economic Analysis, Pre-Law 2018 mg62@rice.edu
Lawrence Harari Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 2018 ljh@rice.edu
Carolina Hatanpaa Engineering 2019 hch@rice.edu
Nicholos "Nicky" Joseph Chemistry, Cognitive Sciences 2018 npj2@rice.edu
Jennifer Kroeger Chemistry, Art History 2019 jek4@rice.edu
Matthew Mutammara Electrical and Computer Engineering 2019 matthew.j.mutammara@rice.edu
Madeleine Pelzel Architecture 2018 madeleine.pelzel@rice.edu
Brandi Ransom Materials Science and Nanoengineering 2018 bnr2@rice.edu
Sarah Rosenthal Natural Sciences 2020 swr5@rice.edu
Kaarthika Thakker Computer Science 2020 kdt6@rice.edu
Aaron Wong Kinesiology 2018 aaron.b.wong@rice.edu
Aydin Zanagar Computer Science, Pre-Med 2019 aez@rice.edu